In September 2018, the Dictionary of Sydney Inc was wound up and management of the Dictionary was transferred to the State Library of New South Wales where the Dictionary of Sydney is made up of a small team of part-time staff and dedicated volunteers.

We are grateful for the contributions of all of those on the Dictionary’s board of management over the years.

Professor Paul Ashton
BA (Hons) DipEd (Macq) PhD (Macq) MPHA

Paul Ashton is the Professor of Public History at the University of Technology, Sydney. He has worked in the fields of heritage, urban, oral and community history and undertaken commissioned histories. Paul is Co-Director of the Australian Centre for Public History and co-editor of the journal Public History Review. He is a past President of the Professional Historians Association of NSW.

Deputy Chair
Professor Grace Karskens
BA MA PhD (Syd)

Grace Karskens is an Associate Professor in the School of History and Philosophy at the University of New South Wales, where she teaches Australian history and public history. A recipient of two ARC Research Fellowships (1995-2000) and a Discovery Grant (2003-2007), her research focuses on social, cultural, urban and environmental history and urban archaeology. Grace’s books include Inside the Rocks: The Archaeology of a Neighbourhood, the prize-winning The Rocks: Life in Early Sydney, and most recently The Colony: a History of Early Sydney, which won the 2010 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Non-Fiction. Grace is a Trustee of the New South Wales Historic Houses Trust.

Professor Michael Fraser AM

Professor Michael Fraser AM is a Professor of Law at the University of Technology, Sydney and Director of the Communications Law Centre (CLC), UTS, Australia’s independent, non-profit, public interest centre specialising in communications, media and online law and policy. He was a founder and CEO of Copyright Agency Limited (CAL) for twenty one years and a founding director of Australian, foreign and international copyright management organisations. Professor Fraser is Chairman of the Australian Copyright Council, Chairman of the Stolen Generations Testimonies Foundation and President of International PEN – Sydney Centre and a director of the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network (ACCAN).

Dr Kate Harrington
BA (Hons), G.Dip Information Management (UNSW), G.Dip Management (UTS), PhD (UNSW)

Kate is Manager, Information, at the Office of Finance and Services. She has previously worked for many other State Government agencies, including; Department of Information, Management and Technology, Housing NSW and the NSW Police Service. She was also an archivist at the Noel Butlin Archives Centre at ANU. In 2001, Kate conceptualised and designed the first information directory (Green Pages) for NSW. In 2009, she developed the first state-level data catalogue (data.nsw), and led a program of citizen / developer events around building apps using NSW Government data, for which she won the Premier’s Public Sector Award for ‘Innovation Through Technology’ in 2011. Kate’s Honors dissertation was a study of the Menzies’ Governments attempt to break the Waterside Workers Federation and her PhD analyses the effectiveness of ICT policy implementation on public sector operations.

Dr Suzanne Rickard

Dr Suzanne Rickard BA PhD (ANU)

Dr Suzanne Rickard is an historian, writer and independent director. Until March 2013, she was State Director of CEDA’s NSW and ACT operations and has extensive experience in public policy research and management.
She has a BA First Class Honours degree and PhD in history from the Australian National University and has authored a number of scholarly works, including George Barrington’s Voyage to Botany Bay: Retelling a Convict’s Travel Narrative (2001); India, China, Australia: Trade and Society 1788-1850 (2003); and Sailing with Cook: Inside the Private Journal of James Burney RN (2015).
Suzanne is currently on the board of MTC Australia, a NFP organisation that assists people to gain employment, education, skills training and work experience, and she is a Laywoman on the ACU’s Human Research Ethics Committee.

Major sponsors                                                                      Community partnerships

Share This